skip to content


The squad

Click the photos below to find out more about each combination. 

team staff

Name Role
Richard Waygood Chef de Mission
Helen Nicholls Performance Director
Caroline Griffith Chef d'Equipe
Andre Buthe Team Vet
Andrew Bowyer Team Farrier
Rachel Greetham Equine Physio
Ash Wallace Human Physio
Sophie Thomas Head of Operations
Lucy Philips Operations
Alex van Tuyll Operations
Winnie Murphy Press Officer
Rachel Dyke Press Officer
Sarah Verney Owner Liaison

How does the competition work? 

Dressage is a test of horse and rider's ability to perform a range of movements in harmony, across the gaits of walk, trot and canter. Seven judges mark the test from different points around the arena, which measures 60m x 20m. At a World Championships, national federations can put forward teams of three or four riders, with the three highest scores counting towards the final score. Nations unable to put forward a complete team can enter up to two combinations. 

GRAND PRIX (Saturday 6 and Sunday 7 August)

The Grand Prix test is used to decide the team medals. Combinations each perform a set test, with judges marking each of the movements out of 10. The scores are added up and an average taken which, when combined with additional marks for the rider's seat and aids, is given as an overall percentage score. All four riders will ride the test, but only the three best rider scores are counted – the team with the highest overall percentage claims the team title.

GRAND PRIX SPECIAL (Monday 8 August)

The top 30-placed riders from the team test go forward to compete the Grand Prix Special (GPS), which is a predetermined test with a higher degree of difficulty than the Grand Prix. No scores are carried forward and, if qualified, all four team members can contest this round. The combination with the highest overall percentage score wins the individual title.

FREESTYLE (Wednesday 10 August)

The top 15 combinations of the Grand Prix Special compete in the Grand Prix Freestyle (GPF). The Freestyle test sees each combination ride a choreographed floorplan set to music of their choice, based on a list of required movements, with additional marks given for artistic merit and degree of difficulty. If all four athletes from one nation are in the top 15, only three highest scoring athletes may participate. No scores are carried forward from the Grand Prix Special and the highest percentage takes the title.

Previous world championship success

  Team Grand Prix Special Grand Prix Freestyle
2018, Tryon USA Bronze Bronze  
Charlotte Dujardin / Mount St John Freestyle, Carl Hester / Hawtins Delicato, Spencer Wilton / Supernova II, Emile Faurie / Dono Di Maggio OLD Charlotte Dujardin / Mount St John Freestyle  
2014, Caen FRA Silver Gold (GPS) Gold (GPF)
Charlotte Dujardin / Valegro, Carl Hester / Nip Tuck, Michael Eilberg / Half Moon Delphi, Gareth Hughes / DJ Stenkjers Nadonna Charlotte Dujardin / Valegro Charlotte Dujardin / Valegro
2010, Lexington USA Silver Silver (GPS) Silver (GPF)
Laura Bechtolsheimer / Minstal Hojris, Carl Hester / Leibling II, Fiona Bigwood / Wie Atlantico, Michael Eilberg / Two Sox Laura Bechtolsheimer / Minstal Hojris Laura Bechtolsheimer / Minstal Hojris
1978, Goodwood GBR   Bronze (GPS)  
  Jennie Loriston-Clarke / Dutch Courage  
Total Three (2x silver, 1x bronze) Four (1x gold, 1x silver, 2x bronze) Two (1x gold, 1x silver)