skip to content


The Squad

Click the photos below to find out more about each combination. 

Jumping Team staff 

Name Role
Richard Waygood Chef de Mission
Helen Nicholls Performance Director
Di Lampard Chef d'Equipe
Simon Woods Team Vet
Andrew Bowyer Team Farrier
Rachel Greetham Equine Physio
Jennie Owst Human Physio
Sophie Thomas Head of Operations
Lucy Philips Operations
Alex van Tuyll Operations
Winnie Murphy Press Officer
Rachel Dyke Press Officer
Sarah Elder Owner Liaison

How does the competition work? 

The showjumping competition is contested over several rounds to decide team and individual honours. Combinations tackle set courses of knockable fences, with the aim being to leave the fences up and finish inside the optimum time. National federations can put forward a team of three or four combinations, with the three highest scores counting towards the final team result. 

Speed round (Wednesday 10 August)

All competitors contest one round against the clock. The final scores are converted into points – the rider with the fastest time and fewest accrued penalties for fences down or refusals is given zero penalties, with all athletes then given penalties dependent on the difference between their score and the rider on zero penalties.

Team competition and individual qualifier (Thursday 11 and Friday 12 August)

All combinations complete an initial qualifying round, before the top-ten best teams and the top-60 athletes go forward to compete in another round that acts as a second individual qualifier and also as the final of the team competition. The team result is calculated by adding together the three best-placed athlete scores after the first and second qualifying rounds.

Individual final (Sunday 14 August)

The third competition is split into two rounds – A and B. Round A is contested by the top-25 combinations following the second round of competition. The 12 best-placed combinations after Round A go through to Round B to decide the individual placings. The combination with the lowest number of penalties at the end of the competition is declared the winner. 

Previous world championship successes

  Team Individual
1998, Rome ITA Bronze  
Di Lampard / Abbervail Dream, John Whitaker / Heyman, Nick Skelton / Hopes Are High, Geoff Billington / It's Otto  
1990, Stockholm SWE Bronze Silver
John Whitaker / Henderson Milton, Michael Whitaker / Henderson Mon Santa, Nick Skelton / Grand Slam, David Broome / Lannegan John Whitaker / Henderson Milton
Total Two (2x bronze) One (1x silver)