skip to content


The British Equestrian Council is made up of representatives of the 19 independent Member Bodies, 14 members and five associate members. It is chaired by an elected chair who need not be an appointed representative of a member and shall not be the board chair or commercial director of a member. 

The Council uses the expertise of the membership to provide ideas for the development of the Federation, provide strategy and policy guidelines for the consideration of the Board, put forward its views and, where relevant, the views of its own members. It has reasonable rights to consultation by the Board and to constructive challenge.


Each year, there is an AGM of the Council and, throughout the year, Council meetings. These meetings consider the matters of relevance to the Federation’s objectives that the Board, or the Council, or the members that have requested the meeting, may decide.

Board Directors

The Council also provides a pool of candidates for the Board:  four founder member nominated directors and four elected directors.

Member Bodies

The current Member Bodies whose representatives make up the Council are:

British Dressage (founder member)
British Eventing (founder member)
British Showjumping (founder member)
The British Horse Society (founder member)
The Pony Club
British Equestrian Vaulting
British Carriagedriving
British Reining
Endurance GB
Association of British Riding Schools
Riding for the Disabled Association
British Horseball Association
Mounted Games Association of Great Britain
UK Polocrosse Association
British Equestrian Trade Association
British Grooms Association (associate)
The Showing Council (associate)
World Horse Welfare (associate)
British Horse Foundation (associate)

Plus horsescotland as a home nation representative.