skip to content

Paris 2024: Dressage

There will be 60 athlete/horse combinations competing in Paris, including 15 teams made up of three combinations. Each team also has the option of bringing a travelling reserve combination, who can be brought in between the team qualifier and team final. The Grand Prix sees athletes split into six groups based on the FEI Dressage World Horse Rankings – three groups will compete on each day of competition, with the top two from each group, plus the six next best ranked combinations, qualifying for the Grand Prix Freestyle individual final. After the Grand Prix, the top 10-ranked teams will qualify for the Grand Prix Special team final, which will decide the team medals.

Key dates

  • Grand Prix: 30–31 July
  • Grand Prix Special and team medal ceremony: 3 August
  • Grand Prix Freestyle and individual medal ceremony: 4 August

Competition format

Dressage is a test of horse and rider's ability to perform a range of movements in harmony, across the gaits of walk, trot and canter. Seven judges mark the test from different points around the arena, which measures 60m x 20m. At an Olympic Games, qualified nations can put forward teams of three horse and rider combinations, plus one travelling reserve who can be substituted in at any point until two hours prior to the start of the team final following illness or injury to a team horse or rider. If a nation isn’t able to qualify a team, they can put forward one individual horse and rider combination, subject to eligibility and qualification criteria.


The Grand Prix test used a qualifying event for the team and individual competitions. Combinations perform a set test, with judges marking each of the movements out of 10. The scores are then added up and combined with additional marks for the riders’ seat and aids, before being converted to an overall percentage score. 

To decide the nations that qualify for the team final, the scores from all three team riders will be combined to produce a final overall score. The top eight teams, including any who are tied for eighth place, will qualify for the team final, the Grand Prix Special.

Riders compete in the Grand Prix in six groups, which are decided based on the FEI World Rankings list. To qualify for the individual final, riders must finish in the top two in their group, or be one of the six next best-placed combinations. If a qualified combination has to drop out before the individual final, the space will be filled by the next best-placed rider.


The top eight teams – a total of 24 combinations, assuming there isn’t a tie for eighth place – will ride the Grand Prix Special. This test is slightly more demanding than the Grand Prix test, but is scored in the same way. Riders must submit music to be played while they ride their test, but this isn’t judged as part of the competition.  

The results of Grand Prix Special determine the allocation of the team medals, with all three scores counting towards the final result. No scores are carried forward from the previous round.


The top 18 combinations in the Grand Prix will go forwards to the Grand Prix Freestyle, following a rest day after the Grand Prix Special. The Freestyle test sees combinations ride a floorplan set to music of their choice, based on a list of required movements, with additional marks given for artistic merit and degree of difficulty.

The results of the Grand Prix Freestyle determine the allocation of the individual medals. No scores are carried from the previous rounds.

Who will represent Great Britain?

Three combinations and a travelling reserve will be selected to represent Team GB in Paris – all three combinations will contest the team and individual medals. 

A list of 12 nominated combinations will be announced in June. From this list, the final squad of three plus the travelling reserve will be chosen later that month.